Elbert K. Fretwell Educator Award

The Elbert K. Fretwell Outstanding Educator Award is presented to those that improve students’ lives by proactively modeling and teaching Scouting values. The award may be presented to teachers, educational support staff, and school administrators who stand out from their professional peers in instilling Scouting Values for students. This Award is intended to recognize non-scouting educators, who are nominated through local units. A unit may nominate one individual per year on each school campus.

The official nomination packet can be found here.

Questions may be directed to Boy Scouts of America, Great Rivers Council, Taylor Crites – taylor.crites@scouting.org

Elbert K. Fretwell 

Dr. Fretwell, the 2nd Chief Scout Executive, was born and educated in Lewis County Missouri, was a graduate of LaGrange College and Professor of Education at Columbia University. Dr. Fretwell championed Scouting programs as extracurricular learning activities that promote positive values and community service.